Movie Review: Pacific Rim (2013) *no spoilers*


There are things you can’t fight – acts of God. You see a hurricane coming, you get out of the way. But when you’re in a Jaeger, you can finally fight the hurricane. You can win. – Raleigh Becket

I watched Pacific Rim today all alone at home. I’m glad I watched it alone and didn’t force my dad to watch it with me (like I always do) because if I’d done that, I would have got to hear him snore while I struggle to stay up and watch it. Didn’t get me yet? Well, the movie was boring. -_- It put me to sleep.

The only reason I watched the whole movie is because of the visuals and the sound. The graphics of the movie are amazing! Though I didn’t like the fact that the Jaegars resembled so much of a transformer (from the movie Transformers) only that they were robots being controlled by two military pilots.

The movie is set in future where giant alien dinosaurs called the Kaijus attack the Earth. They enter onto Earth through a bridge created from a different dimension in the pacific ocean. (Hence the name– ‘Pacific’ rim!) These sea monsters want to take over the Earth and begin their existence here. With the help of a panel of the most efficient scientists and military forces, the army develops Jaegars to fight with these horrid looking creatures. Of all the encounters with the kaijus, most of them fail resulting in loss of pilots or injure them badly.

The movie is very superficial and keeps juggling from one end to the other making it messy. The script sucked badly. I wish they had a better story line. All you enjoy is watching a jaegar fight a monster.

As for the acting, most famous TV series actors have been cast such as Idris Elba, Charlie Day, Burn Gorman, Charlie Hunman and Diego Klattenhoff. I enjoyed watching Charlie Day and Burn Gorman playing the comic scientists and they both have played their characters really well. As per the rest of the actors I’m just assuming they didn’t do that great because of the script.

If you are a fan of fantasy comics and watch action movies only to watch the armed fights, then this movie is worth one time watch. Without the high tech graphics this movie wouldn’t have got the rating it has. (7.8/10 IMDB charts)

I guess I’ll have a short nap now. Zzz.

Share your thoughts